film festival

Fifth edition 06 t/m 10
nov 2019


Winners Award show

It was a huge success! More than 8.000 visitors visited the fourth edition of InScience. Of more than 60 films, 21 films had a Dutch premiere at the festival. More than 180 scientists, filmmakers, screenwriters and artists from the Netherlands and abroad were present. The education program of InScience was attended by more than 2.200 students.

Tonight was the InScience Award show, where Elisabeth van Nimwegen, presenter of NTR Focus, announced the winner of the NTR Audience Award. The Student Jury announced the winner of the Student Jury Award. Read here which films have won these awards!

NTR Audience Award

The winning documentary Into the Okavango by director Neil Gelinas shows how a passionate group of nature-lovers and scientists pursue their goals into the breath-taking Okavango Delta. The NTR Audience Award is €2.500.

Top 3 audience favorites InScience 2018:

1.     Into the Okavango / Neil Gelinas / Documentary / NA, BW, AO, US, ZA / 2018
2.     Salam – The First ****** Nobel Laureate / Anand Kamalaker / Documentary / US, PK / 2017
3.     Jane / Brett Morgen / Documentary / US / 2017

Student Jury Award

The Student Jury has awarded the film Inventing Tomorrow as the best science film: “One of the things we searched for in a filmwas inspiration. We believe this film really touched on the fundamentals of science: the intrinsic motivation of humans to learn and explore the world.”

Top 3 favorites Student Jury 2018:

1.     Inventing Tomorrow / Laura Nix / Documentary / US / 2018
2.     The Serengeti Rules / Nicolas Brown / Documentary / US, UK / 2018
3.     AlphaGo / Greg Kohs / Documentary / US / 2017