InScience Film Festival

The Winner of the Student Jury Award

During the festival, Nienke Cremers, Diede van der Vleuten, Björk Johannes and Lauren Tomasouw watched a selection of the film program. They have made their decision about which filmmaker made the best science film and deserves the Student Jury Award. This year the award goes to Picture a Scientist (2020) by Ian Cheney and Sharon Shattuck! The film was rated the highest by the student jury and, in addition to the Student Jury Award, also received a cash prize of € 500.

Winner InScience Student Jury Award

Ian Cheney and Sharon Shattuck’s winning film Picture a Scientist provides a glimpse into the world of injustice of female scientists. In Picture a Scientist, we follow three scientists dealing with sexism, harassment and systematic discrimination in the academic field. Against the current and out of great love for the profession, these women are committed to radically change and improve the science culture.

Want to know how the student jury made their decision? Take a look at the vlog about their assessment process:

Assessment of the student jury

The InScience Student Jury, consisting of Nienke Cremers, Diede van der Vleuten, Björk Johannes and Lauren Tomasouw, found Picture a Scientist to be a very relevant film, certainly in today’s society. They believe this topic needs to be heard, which is exactly what this movie does. “It gives the women who tell their story in this film a voice and makes them strong. In our view, this is compounded by the fact that women are primarily portrayed as powerful scientists and not simply as victims of a sexist system. The animations and statistics in the film contribute to the message that the film wants to convey.” The jury also found the play between the natural sciences, the women in the film, and gamma sciences, the research into discrimination, to be nicely connected in this film. “This actually shows that science has so many different aspects.”

Picture a Scientist (2020) by Ian Cheney and Sharon Shattuck can be viewed via the online platform until November 22.

More news

Subscribe to our newsletter

Stay up to date about the festival